This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

8.5 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.9
Comfort
8.1
Property location
8.1
Facilities
8.3
Staff
9.0
Value
8.4
Reviews
    au
    8.8
    26 December 2017
    The only downfall for me was the location of the hostel. Although it was under a 30 minute walk from the station, after a whole day of exploring and trekking, a 30 minute walk to the downtown area near the station can seem quite the distance. However there is quick access by a tram but sometimes I could not be bothered paying. It would have been nice if the hostel has a few recommendations for restuarants nearby the hostel that were friendly to foreigners and were less intimidating then some of the hidden izakayas nearby.
    Hibari House was a very cute and dainty hostel in the quieter side of Okayama. It was situated within one of those covered shopping arcades you find in most japanese cities, but remained very quiet. The beds were comfortable, the facilities were clean and the staff were very helpful. What was unique about this hostel is that the first floor was a cafe and an event space at the same time. On two of the nights, there were events in the ground floor (a gig and some other event) but usually stopped before 11pm.
    Alejandra
    jp
    9.2
    25 December 2017
    Super like!!!
    gb
    10
    20 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    sofigb
    ar
    7.9
    9 December 2017
    I didn't like the room. The bed was too small, it felt like a coffin. I chose the female room and you could here everything from the mixed room, which was right next to it, without a door separating them. Also, the toilets, showers and sinks are all mixed, which is something I don't enjoy very much, so if you're like me, have that in mind.
    It's located in a really nice place, easy to access and with lots of shops nearby. It's also realtively close to the Castle and the Kourakuen Garden.
    Amanda Yin Yin
    hk
    5.0
    4 December 2017
    Not again
    men and women share the same floor of bathrooms, toilets.. :(
    No crossaints. NO lifts, heavy luggage is a bad options
    Hyebin
    kr
    10
    25 November 2017
    It was little but cold inside during the night .
    Everything was perfect!
    Ana
    gb
    10
    22 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ana
    gb
    9.6
    19 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    iago
    be
    5.4
    15 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Melanie
    au
    10
    9 November 2017
    This place was so cute! There is a little cafe/shop on the ground floor, and then the guesthouse is on the 2nd floor. It is practically brand new with good and clean kitchen and bathroom facilities. Would definitely recommend!
    Sean
    au
    10
    6 November 2017
    Absolutely incredible staff, extremely welcoming and understanding. Amazing shop downstairs with interesting art and books made perfect for gifts. Can't imagine staying anywhere else if I ever return to Okayama.
    jp
    7.5
    30 October 2017
    Arty hostel that is safe and clean!
    The property is about a 20 min walk from the station or you can take a bus (which I didn't figure out how to do).
    The breakfast wasn't included but you did get 100 yen off. It was really yummy toast with a perfectly boiled egg. I recommend it! The place was styled in a minimal but cool way. The shop below had really cool knick-knacks and overall was an arty looking space. The beds in the dorms are very private with a blind to close when you are ready to sleep. There was a large kitchen area to hang out in too. Bathroom and shower area was clean.
    Anna
    de
    7.5
    26 October 2017
    Okay for one night
    Dorm was really narrow, so no space to store luggage at reach. The whole hostel is basically open space (kitchen, toilets, shower rooms, dorms, ...), so it can get very noisy. Price for a bunk bed is comparably high to similar places in Japan.
    The location of Hibari House was convenient and it was easy to find. Wifi worked well, bunk beds were equipped with a USB port, which was nice.
    Karen
    tw
    7.5
    18 October 2017
    good place for group travellers on budget
    The upper bed is a little difficult to access because of the ladder. The mattress was a little dusty. It needs to be dusted-off. The mixed dormitory room is too close to the main door so you will be bothered by the noise of people entering. The rooms are not sound proof so you cna hear footsteps all the time.
    The staff is really nice. Location is good. I like the shower area very much because it has a separate dressing area. This is really important for me. If you just plan to have a place to stay and not really lookin for a fancy place, this place is good to go. I recommend it for group travelers.
    de
    8.3
    17 October 2017
    Good
    The rooms aren't really separated from each other. The mixed dorm is connected to the main "hall"; you basically walk around a corner. That takes a bit away of comfort and also doesn't help keeping noise out. There's not real cover for the blanket - just a sheet. Considering the price that bothered me. But these are really minor points.
    New. Very clean. Kitchen and washing machine at your disposal. Location isn't too bad - sort of right in between the castle and the main station. All good!
    us
    7.5
    17 October 2017
    Bunk beds are just in front of the kitchen and there is no door to separate the dormitory from the common areas and thus no privacy.
    Good location. Quiet at night while in an Shopping Arcade. Modern facilities, everything is clean. Check-in was smooth and the person I met was very helpful.
    jp
    7.5
    17 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Elena
    gb
    4.2
    10 October 2017
    Avoid this place if you can!! I will never stay again: impolite, overpriced and no service at all!!
    Overpriced. Little service for what you pay. Staff was impolite. I had to wait in the reception for the check in time at 4pm and sat down there for few minutes. I was told I had to leave unless I purchase something (also overpriced) from their coffee shop. No service included at all, even the basics as towel. Dormitory was very noisy, even at 4am, as there are no doors between kitchen and bathroom and sleepe My area. The whole hostel is claustrophobic, no window in any area, feels like a very expensive bunker, with absolutely nothing included, not even politeness!!!
    Location at walking distance from main tourist attraction
    Amiram
    il
    9.6
    26 September 2017
    A great, new place set in an awsome place in the center of the city
    The room's size is a bit small and I think it'll be hard managing your stuff if the hostel was full of guests
    The hosts are great and the atmosphere is young, energetic and refreshing
    stuart wright
    gb
    8.3
    24 September 2017
    Good enough for 1 night
    Not much room for luggage in the dorms, no doors so noise travelled, not very social.
    Good location, good value
Loading reviews
Close